Mississippi Teacher Incentive Fund Grant

In 2010, the U. S. Department of Education awarded the Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) a $10 million grant to pilot a performance-based compensation system for educators, the Teacher Incentive Fund (TIF).  The federal TIF Grant application provided that pilot site schools must meet the program definition of highneed school, being defined by the program as a school with 50 percent or more of its enrollment from lowincome families, based on eligibility for free or reducedprice lunch subsidies under the Richard B. Russell National School Lunch Act. . .

 The program also gave competitive preference to schools in which, Student achievement in each of the schools whose educators would be part of the Performance Based Compensation System  is lower than in what the applicant determines are comparable schools. . . in terms of key factors such as size, grade levels, and poverty levels.

 Having identified these program considerations, MDE invited schools to participate in the program who met the following criteria at the end of the 2008‐09 school year:

  • School had a free and reduced lunch rate greater than 50%;
  • School included grades ranging from 3rd Grade to 8th Grade, reflecting MCT2 assessment areas;
  • School had a Quality Distribution Index (QDI) ranging from 131 to 139 on the state
  • School did not meet growth under the state accountability system.

 Seven schools and districts meeting these criteria agreed to participate. Three of those school districts offered to include an additional school from their district that represented similar configuration and performance to allow for project evaluation within a school district.

Therefore, the ten (10) schools that are participating in the MDE TIF project are as follows:

  1. Bruce Upper Elementary/Calhoun County School District
  2. Cook Elementary/Columbus School District
  3. Franklin Academy/Columbus School District
  4. Central Elementary/George County School District
  5. Oak Forest Elementary/Jackson Public School District
  6. Van Winkle Elementary/Jackson Public School District
  7. North Jones Elementary/Jones County School District
  8. Magee Middle School/Simpson County School District
  9. Mendenhall Junior High/Simpson County School District
  10. Buckatunna Elementary/Wayne County School District

The 5-year grant began in school year 2010-11 through school year 2014-15.  The grant was allowed a 1-year no-cost extension for school year 2015-16 to continue grant components.  However, no performance-based compensation will be given for the extension year.


Albert Carter, Office Director II – TIF     601-359-3631

Cerissa Neal, Executive Director, Office of Educator Quality

Link to U. S. Department of Education: Teacher Incentive Fund

TIF Grant Highlights

Professional Development Session at Oak Forest Elementary School, Jackson Public Schools

Teachers are participating in a Professional Development Session on Teaching Literacy.

TIF Leadership Meeting at Embassy Suites

September 2015- TIF administrators and teacher leaders are fully engaged in a Professional Development Session on teaching reading strategies led by Impact Education Group.

Mississippi Teacher Center     P.O. Box 771     Jackson, MS 39205-0771     Phone: (601) 359-3631     Fax: (601) 359-2778

Copyright © 2012 Mississippi Department of Education
Website Accessibility StatementAgency Web DisclaimerNotice of Non-Discrimination