Mississippi Board of Education

The Mississippi State Board of Education adopts rules and regulations and set standards and policies for the organization, operation, management, planning, budgeting and programs of the Mississippi State Department of Education.

The Board is made up of nine members. Each member is appointed according to the rules in the Mississippi Constitution. The Board appoints the State Superintendent of Education.

Mississippi Constitution rules require that the Mississippi Governor appoint one member from Mississippi's Northern Supreme Court District, one member from Mississippi's Central Supreme Court District, one member from Mississippi's Southern Supreme Court District, one member who is employed as a school administrator, and one member who is employed as a public school teacher. Additionally, the Lieutenant Governor shall appoint two members at-large, and the Speaker of the Mississippi House of Representatives shall appoint two members at-large.

Educational Priorities and Board Mission
In its role as a policy maker, the Board has a State Board of Education 5-Year Strategic Plan. To further its efforts to create a world-class education system, the Board has also published its legislative priorities for the 2017 legislative year.

Board Members

Mrs. Rosemary G. Aultman, Chair
Term expires July, 2022
At-Large Representative

107 Caroline Cove
Clinton, MS 39056
Ph: 601-924-4830


Dr. Jason S. Dean, Vice-Chair
Term Expires July, 2024
At-Large Representative

124 One Madison Plaza, Suite 2100
Madison, MS 39110
Ph: 601-664-8858


Dr. Carey M. Wright, Executive Secretary
State Superintendent of Education

Mississippi Department of Education
P.O. Box 771
Jackson, MS 39205
Ph: 601-359-1750
Fax: 601-359-3242

Mr. Buddy Bailey
Term expires July, 2023
Administrator Representative

Rankin County School District
1220 Apple Park Place
Brandon, MS 39042
Ph: 601-825-5590


Mrs. Kami Bumgarner
Term expires July, 2018
Teacher Representative

Madison Middle School
1365 Mannsdale Road
Madison, MS 39110
Ph: 601-605-4171


Dr. Karen Elam
Term Expires July, 2021
3rd Supreme Court District Representative

3805 Majestic Oaks Drive 
Oxford, MS 38655
Ph: 662-513-0705 

  Mr. Johnny Franklin
Term Expires July, 2025
1st Supreme Court District Representative

7750 Hwy. 22
Bolton, MS 39041
Ph: (601) 664-8363

  Dr. John R. Kelly
Term expires July, 2020
2nd Supreme Court District Representative

City of Gulfport
Post Office Box 1780
Gulfport, MS, 39502-1780
Ph: 228-868-5770

Mr. Charles McClelland
Term expires July, 2019
At-Large Representative

6252 Winthrop Circle
Jackson, MS 39206
Ph: 601-991-2412

Mr. Sean Suggs
Term expires July, 2026
At-Large Representative

126 Edgewater Drive
Saltillo, MS 38866
Ph: (662) 507-0095

Mississippi Department of Education     P.O. Box 771     Jackson, MS 39205-0771     General Information: 601-359-3513

Copyright © 2012 Mississippi Department of Education
Website Accessibility StatementAgency Web DisclaimerNotice of Non-Discrimination